

Scott Johnson, Director of Education

Enclosure 10

Date: September 27, 2022

Prepared by: Scott Johnson, Director of Education

Subject: Election Compliance Audit Committee 2022-2026

## Background

The Municipal Elections Act requires each school board and municipality in Ontario to establish an Election Compliance Audit Committee (ECAC). The committee is empowered to act for a period of four years, but will only be called upon in the event that there is an allegation of contravention of the Municipal Elections Act.

The purpose of the Election Compliance Audit Committee is to:

- review any application by an elector for a compliance audit on a candidate's election campaign finances;
- consider compliance audit applications made by electors and decide whether they should be granted or rejected;
- appoint an auditor if the application is granted;
- receive the auditor's report;
- consider the auditor's report and decide whether legal proceedings should be commenced;
- advise the Board if the auditor's report indicates that there was no apparent contravention and if there appear to be no reasonable grounds for the application.

The ECAC will be comprised of four members and the Secretary of the Board, as set out in legislation. As the ECAC members are volunteers, there is no remuneration; however, mileage and meal expenses will be paid, in the event the audit committee is required to meet.

The membership of the ECAC may be the same for school boards and municipalities in the same jurisdiction. On September 26, 2022 the Municipality of Chatham-Kent confirmed the appointment of the following persons to its ECAC for the 2022-2026 term of office:

- Mike Lowther
- Derek McGivern
- Mike Phipps
- Daniel Whittal

All four have confirmed that they agree to let their names stand for appointment to the St. Clair Catholic District School Board Election Compliance Audit Committee.



I therefore submit to the Board of Trustees the above named individuals for appointment as members of the St. Clair Catholic District School Board Election Compliance Audit Committee for the 2022-2026 term of office.

## Recommendations

Motion: That the St. Clair Catholic District School Board receive the report: *Election Compliance Audit Committee 2022-2026,* for information.

Motion: That the St. Clair Catholic District School Board appoint Mike Lowther, Derek McGivern, Mike Phipps and Daniel Whittal as members of the St. Clair Catholic District School Board Election Compliance Audit Committee, for the 2022 – 2026 term of office.